jueves, 1 de diciembre de 2011

Stop Hate Crime!

Resolution by participants of the International Conference“Stop Hate Crime! NGO Approaches to Victim Assistance and Monitoring in Europe”concerning efforts in the St Petersburg City Legislative Assembly to introduce prohibition of the so-called "propaganda of sodomy, lesbianism, bisexualism, transgenderism to minors"22-25 November 2011, Berlin

Vadim Tulpanov, Chair of St Petersburg Legislative Assembly; Georgy Poltavchenko (Governorof St Petersburg), Alexei Kozyrev (Ombudsman for Human Rights - St Petersburg) Vladimir Lukin (Ombudsman for Human Rights - Russian Federation).

1. We the undersigned are shocked by the introduction by legislative assembly members of the "United Russia" party to introduce legal measures to prohibit the so-called "propaganda of sodomy, lesbianism, bisexualism, transgenderism to minors" and "pedophilia", respectively.

2. We believe that the association of two articles (7.1 and 7.2) with the same penalties and sanctions equates "homosexuals, lesbians, bisexuals and transgender people" with the perpetration of illegal and immoral and criminal sexual offences against children is a slur and propaganda against LGBT people. We, the undersigned are utterly opposed to sexual offences against children.

3. This association of "homosexuals" with sexual offences against children is another part of propaganda against lesbians, gays, bisexuals and transgender (LGBT) people which will spread misinformation and generate negative attitudes and “hate crime” including violence against LGBT people within St Petersburg and beyond. This is consistent with the experience in other countries around the world. Moreover, the ban of disseminating information on sexual orientation and gender identity may also hamper advocacy for effective investigation of hatecrime against LGBT people.

4. We are concerned that similar laws have been passed in Ryazan and Archangelsk and that members of the Legislative Assembly have suggested a Federal law, which will extend such tragic consequences across the whole of the Russian Federation and lead to the further isolation and suffering of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people.

5. We believe that such laws that prohibit open discussion on any subject are a denial of freedom of speech and therefore of democracy and are inconsistent with the UN International Bill of Human Rights, the European Convention for Human Rights, and place Russia in breach of her international treaty obligations.

6. Sexual orientation and gender identity are fundamental characteristics, and no one should be discriminated against on any ground.

7. We call on the Saint Petersburg Legislative Assembly to dismiss the proposed bill and instead focus its energies on adopting comprehensive antidiscrimination legislation that includes sexual orientation and gender identity among the protected categories. This law must also be replicated on a federal level.

(in alphabetical order of the organization)
 Nekozakova Anastasya, ADC "Memorial", Russia
 Timo Reinfrank, Amadeu Antonio Foundation, Germany
 Witold Klaus, Association for Legal Intervention, Poland
 F.Levent Sensever, Erkin Erdogan, Association for Social Change, Turkey
 Miroslawa Makuchowska, Campaign against Homophobia, Poland
 Britta Schellenberg, Centre for Applied Policy Research, Ludwig-Maximilians University of Munich, Germany
 Anna Lenchovska, Congress of National Minorities, Ukraine
 Markéta Kovarikova, Czech Helsinki Committee, Czech Republic
 Timm Köhler, Program Manager “Stop Hate Crime!”, Foundation Remembrance, Responsibility and Future (Foundation EVZ), Germany
 Joël Le Déroff, Ilga Europe, Belgium
 Suzette Bronkhorst, INACH, Netherlands
 Martina Dvořáková, Klará Kalibová, In IUSTITIA, o.s. Czech Republic
 Miroslav Bohdalek, Kulturbüro Sachsen e.V., Germany
 Jay Keim, Lesbenberatung Berlin e.V. (Lesbian Counseling Centre Berlin), Germany
 Kumar Vishwanathan, Life Together, Czech Republic
 Ronald Eissens, Magenta Foundation, Netherlands
 Suresh Grover, The Monitoring Group, Great Britain
 Miguel Callejo, Movement against intolerance, Spain
 Andriy Maymulakhin, Alexandr Zinchenkov, Nash Mir, Ukraine
 Alena Krempaska, People Against Racism, Slovakia
 Flaminia Bartolini, ReachOut Berlin
 Benjamin Abtan, SOS Racisme, France
 Maria Rozalskaya, SOVA Center for Information and Analysis, Russia
 Julia Ehrt, Transgender Europe, Austria
 Valentin Gonzalez, United for International Action, Netherlands
 Dr. Neil Chakraborti, University of Leicester, Great Britain
 Maxim Efimov, Youth Human Rights Group, Karelia, Russia
 Konstantin Baranov, international Youth Human Rights Movement (YHRM), Russia
 Frauke Büttner, Politologue, Freelancer, Germany
 Ute Weinmann, Russia

0 comentarios:

Publicar un comentario